Home Recommended Kids Competitions Venues Top 5 Markets News Blogs Gallery Specials Map Newsletter


Regents Harriers
The Regent Harriers were formed on the 13th July 1960 by the late Ron Clokie, who was inspired to take up road running after seconding the late Ian Jardine during the 1960 Comrades Marathon.
Ron was asked by the late Ian Jardine's wife Eleanor to second Ian and it was the determination shown by Ian that motivated and inspired Ron to commence running and take part in the following Comrades marathon.

Three of Ron's work companions, namely Gordon McNair, Dave Russell and Ruben Turkington of the United Building Society ran as a team entering the 1961 Comrades Marathon and the four original Regent Harriers finished the race within the qualifying time to receive their medals. They were the first commercial institution, which had ever entered as a team in the Comrades.

The name Regent Harriers was derived from Regent Place where Ron lived.

Over the years the Regent runners started from outside Ron's house in the early hours of the morning and the group grew larger and larger.

Events



Regents Harriers Hill Run
Thu 02 October 14

Regents Harriers Running Club
Fri 03 October 14

Regents Harriers Running Club
Sun 05 October 14

Regents Harriers Running Club
Tue 07 October 14

Regents Harriers Hill Run
Thu 09 October 14

Regents Harriers Running Club
Fri 10 October 14

Regents Harriers Running Club
Sun 12 October 14

Regents Harriers Running Club
Tue 14 October 14

Regents Harriers Hill Run
Thu 16 October 14

Regents Harriers Running Club
Fri 17 October 14

Regents Harriers Running Club
Sun 19 October 14

Regents Harriers Running Club
Tue 21 October 14

Regents Harriers Hill Run
Thu 23 October 14

Regents Harriers Running Club
Fri 24 October 14

Regents Harriers Running Club
Sun 26 October 14

Regents Harriers

p: 082 564 9024
e: info@brettflorens.co.uk
w: www.regents.co.za


Address
Cnr Broadway and Kensington Drive
Durban North


Share the love
Premium Venue
Piza e Vino (Rosebank)
Piza e Vino (Rosebank)
Piza e Vino has a love for simple fresh food cooked in a traditional way using authentic methods with a twist.