What's On
|  Johannesburg

Review of 'Contractions' at the Alexander Bar

3rd February 16

Having come from the corporate world, I was curious to see Mike Bartlett's Contractions (directed by Greg Karvellas). Initially a radio drama called ‘Love Contract’, it was first presented by London’s Royal Court Theatre, and has debuted in South Africa at the Alexander Bar. With only two characters and a bleak, unchanging stage, one might have expected difficulty in retaining the audience’s attention. However, the relentless repetition is part of what makes this brutal black comedy work.
By Laura Davidson

+ ADD YOUR EVENT Click here

Popular this week

DinnerTimeStories SA: Le Petit Chef - Marco Polo
Mon 22 Apr - Sun 30 Jun
Faircity Quatermain Hotel
Wo-Men's Month
Fri 10 May - Sun 16 Jun
Westgate Shopping Centre
Equus
Fri 26 Apr - Sun 26 May
Montecasino
Chicago The Musical
Sat 20 Apr - Sun 26 May
Montecasino
John Vlismas - The End
Wed 24 Apr - Sun 2 Jun
Montecasino

Premium Events

Come Whisky With Us
Wed 29 - Thu 30 May
Montecasino

Follow us on Instagram: #thisiswhatson

Advertisement